Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day – Herschel Pollard

TsvetinaVachkova:

Happy Pinhole Day to all Analogue lovers:)
This article gave me a sign that it’s about time me to kick myself on the butt and try out finally how pinhole works.
Challenge accepted!

Originally posted on 1000 Words Blog:

Today’s blog post for World Pinhole Photography Day comes from guest blogger Herschel Pollard.

*******************************

I began shooting pinhole about 10 years ago when a friend convinced me to build a camera out of foam core and an old Polaroid back. My first image was a 15-minute exposure in my living room on Type 55 film…and it wasn’t very good. The camera needed adjustment. I needed adjustment. But I got hooked. By the time I finished that box of film I’d managed to adjust the camera, and my thinking, well enough to produce amazingly sharp images. I felt chills every time a photo worked, like witnessing magic.

Image

Yellow Dress, Expired Portra 100T

I love pinhole because it requires long exposures, even on bright days, which means movement disappears. I love pinhole because there is infinite depth of field so everything is in focus. I love pinhole because when the focal…

View original 770 more words

